• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Important announcements 1

Events

Wolfgang Kissel's Report "From the October Revolution to Soviet Civilization: On the Emergence and Transformation of a Stalinist Discourse"

Event ended

Within the framework of the seminar "West and East: Universalism of Culture" Wolfgang Stefan Kissel will give a talk. Wolfgang Stefan Kissel is the director of the Institute of European Studies of the University of Bremen, leading research fellow of the International Laboratory for the Study of Russian and European Intellectual Dialogue (Higher School of Economics).

On September 21, 2018, at 6 pm, Wolfgang Kissel's report "From the October Revolution to Soviet Civilization, On the Emergence and Transformation of Stalinist Discourse" takes place.

Abstract:
When the Bolsheviks overthrew the Russian government in October 1917 and consolidated their power during the years of the Civil War 1918-1922, they wanted as much to construct a new order as to demolish the old one. To them, building up communism meant destroying not only autocratic Russia and its aristocracy, but also erasing bourgeois civilization from memory.
In the 1920s, most Soviet intellectuals thought that the concept of civilization was obsolete and belonged exclusively to the Western bourgeoisie. From their point of view, it was only logical and consistent to marginalize the use of the concept in communist ideology and in the official language of the 1920s and 1930s. Against the backdrop of a total breach with bourgeois civilization under Lenin, the renaissance of the term and Stalin’s personal interest in it after 1944 demands special study and elucidation.

The report will be in English.
Venue: Room 505, 21/4 Staraya Basmannaya Ulitsa, Moscow
For students and staff of the HSE, the entrance is free. To order a pass to the HSE, please write your full name to reid@hse.ru before 6pm on September 18, 2018.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мероприятия

Доклад Вольфганга Кисселя "От Октябрьской революции до Советской цивилизации. О возникновении и трансформации сталинского дискурса"

Мероприятие завершено

В рамках научно-учебного семинара "Запад и Восток: универсализм культуры" выступит Вольфганг Штефан Киссель, директор Института европейских исследований Бременского университета, ведущий научный сотрудник Международной лаборатории исследований русско-европейского интеллектуального диалога НИУ ВШЭ

21 сентября 2018 года в 18.00 состоится доклад Вольфганга Кисселя на тему "От Октябрьской революции до Советской цивилизации. О возникновении и трансформации сталинского дискурса". 

Аннотация доклада:
Когда большевики свергли российское правительство в октябре 1917 года и укрепили свою власть в годы Гражданской войны 1918-1922 годов, они хотели установить новый порядок настолько, чтобы полностью снести старый. Cоздание коммунизма означало для них уничтожение не только самодержавной России и ее аристократии, но также вычеркивание буржуазной цивилизации из памяти страны.
В 1920-х гг. большинство советских интеллектуалов считали, что концепция цивилизации устарела и относится исключительно к западной буржуазии. На официальном языке 1920-х и 1930-х годов, внутри коммунистической идеологии,  с их точки зрения, было логично и последовательно маргинализировать использование этой концепции. На фоне полного разрыва с буржуазной цивилизацией при Ленине возрождение этого термина и личный интерес Сталина к нему после 1944 года требуют специального изучения и разъяснения.

Семинар будет проходить на английском языке.
Для студентов и сотрудников НИУ ВШЭ вход свободный. Для заказа пропуска в здание НИУ ВШЭ просьба написать на адрес reid@hse.ru и указать ФИО до 18.00 18 сентября 2018 года.